Posts tagged glutenous foods
When inviting someone with a gluten restricted diet to dine, it is important to know what to look for. Gluten is found in many grains including wheat, barley and rye. Even oats may need to be avoided due to cross pollination. Here’s a list of raw products that should be avoided.
- Wheat – including germ, wheat grass juice, couscous, farina, graham flour, semolina, and bulgur
- Oats – bran & fiber, too
Luckily there are a lot of products on the market to help replace some favorites like bread and pasta. When looking at pre-prepared foods it is safest to make sure they say “gluten-free” right on the label, as gluten lurks in unknown places as fillers and thickeners. Another great resource for gluten-free recipes is the Internet, just search for “gluten-free recipes.”